UP Assembly Election 2017 Congress CM Candidate list Sheila Dikshit

Uttar Pradesh Assembly Election 2017 Congress CM Candidate list :- Congress names Sheila Dikshit as UP CM candidate, says chosen for experience and good work.Dikshit is the daughter-in-law of prominent Congress leader from Uttar Pradesh Uma Shankar Dikshit, who was a Brahmin face and had served as a union minister and governor for a long time.This move can be seen as an attempt on the Congress Party’s part to win back its traditional upper caste voters.

Also Check:

sheila dikshit up congress cm candidate
sheila dikshit up congress cm candidate

The community, a traditional vote bank of the Congress, later shifted allegiance to the BJP. A large chunk of Brahmin votes had also gone to the BSP in the past when party supremo Mayawati gave tickets to many candidates belonging to the community.She was the Chief Minister of Delhi from 1998 to 2013.

S.no Chief Minister Candidates Name Party
1. Akhilesh Yadav SP
2. Priyanka Gandhi,Shiela Dikshit Congress
3. Mayawati BSP
4. Rajnath Singh,kalyan Singh BJP

She is a member of the Indian National Congress. Dikshit led the Congress to three consecutive electoral victories in Delhi. In the December 2013 elections to the Delhi Legislative Assembly, Dikshit was defeated in New Delhi constituency by Aam Aadmi Party leader Arvind Kejriwal, who briefly replaced her as Delhi’s chief minister.

Political Career

During the period between 1984 and 1989, she represented Kannauj parliamentary constituency of Uttar Pradesh. As a member of Parliament, she served on the Estimates Committee of Lok Sabha. Dikshit also chaired the Implementation Committee for Commemoration of Forty Years of India’s Independence and Jawaharlal Nehru centenary. She represented India at United Nations Commission on Status of Women for five years (1984–1989). She also served as a Union Minister during 1986–1989, first as the Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs and later as a Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office.

In Uttar Pradesh, she and her 82 colleagues were jailed in August 1990 for 23 days by the state government when she led a movement against the atrocities being committed on women. Earlier, in the early 1970s, she was chairperson of the Young Women’s Association and was instrumental in the setting up two of the most successful hostels for working women in Delhi. She is also the Secretary of the Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust.

In the 1998 parliamentary elections, Dikshit was defeated by Bharatiya Janata Party’s Lal Bihari Tiwari in East Delhi constituency. Later, Dikshit became Chief Minister of Delhi in 1998. She served for nearly 15 years as the Chief Minister of Delhi until 2013. Dikshit represented the Gole Market assembly constituency in the 1998 and 2003 Assembly elections and New Delhi constituency from 2008.

In August 2013 the ombudsman court ordered an FIR to be filed against her and others for allegedly misusing government funds for an advertising campaign ahead of the 2008 assembly elections.But no charges were ever brought.Her party was wiped out in the Delhi Legislative Assembly election, 2013 and Arvind Kejriwal founder of Aam Admi party won the election in the New Delhi Assembly constituency by a margin of 25,864 votes.She resigned on 8 December 2013, but remained the caretaker Chief Minister of Delhi till the new Government was sworn in on 28 December 2013. She was appointed as the Governor of Kerala in March 2014, but was forced to resign five months later.UP vidhan sabha cm candidates,up election 2017 cm candidates list,2017 up election congress cm candidates,up assembly election 2017,congress cm candidates list 2017 election.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *